We are different, but We are still family

 I have always wondered how kids with the same parents can be so different.  Although I love my siblings, we are not extremely close.  My oldest sister who has always identified as “The black sheep” of the family went so far as to move to the midsection of the country all on her own years ago but even as teenagers I never allowed her to get too far from me.  I’m that one who makes sure to always keep in touch.

Well that same sister recently had a heart attack and has since passed away.  I’m okay because I know I did my part in keeping a relationship with her.  I always told her that I loved her, and I made sure we talked pretty regularly, as a matter of fact the day before she went to the hospital we spoke and she was so excited about finally learning how to text on her new phone.  I laughed because she really had not gotten the hang of it (so cute).

I said all that to say,  no matter what the circumstance, family is just that “family”.  Don’t allow arguments, differences or misunderstandings to keep you from communicating.  Don’t wait until it’s too late to say “I love you”, “I’m sorry or “I was wrong, forgive me”.  Don’t wait to show your loved ones you care, even if the issue hasn’t been totally resolved.

 If you love them, tell them while you can, because living with the guilt of being too stubborn to talk or even to tolerate them because of your differences may be more than you can bare if they are suddenly taken from you forever.

Luke 17:3-4 So if your brother or sister sins against you, rebuke (tell) them and if they repent, forgive them.  Even if they sin (offend) against you seven times in a day and seven times come back to you saying, “I’m sorry”, you must forgive them

Matthew 6:14-15. For if you forgive others when they sin against you (offend ), your Heavenly Father will also forgive you.  But if you do not forgive others their sin, your Heavenly Father will not forgive you sin (offenses) against Him!

Leave a Reply

