Yes, It’s Christmas, and Yes, I know it hurts

It’s always hard to be without a loved one, but in my opinion, Christmas time is the worse time of all to be without them. This is the time of year that I lost my mother to a long illness. During that time, I felt so alone, but I was too busy caring for my mom to give into my feelings. My military husband was stationed in another state, as were both of my military children. I spent most of my time at doctors appointments or hospitals. I remember before my moms last surgery, decorating her hospital room because she loved Christmas, and I would have done anything to make her happy.

Yes, I still fight my sadness almost 8 years later, because I still miss her so much, but I have learned now, to be sad for a moment and “let it go”. I came to realize that my sadness never accomplished much, but to make me even more miserable. I now concentrate on the good, like my moms laughter, it was infectious, and her touch, which was so tender and loving. She had the most giving heart, her love for her family was unsurpassed, but most of all, she loved The Lord and she was looking forward to being with Him in Glory, and no longer suffering in pain.

I know it’s hard, but start by remembering the good times. Find things you are thankful for, look at old pictures, remember things you laughed about together, and allow healing to take place within.

I am so thankful for my mother, and all the good she instilled in me, but most of all, I am thankful for my faith in God and how He has given me the strength to find joy at Christmas.

Have Yourself A Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

