Promise keepers

I tell people all the time that I never liked sports growing up but my husband was a football player when I met him.  It was his life at that time.  I had to learn to deal with it because, it was really the only way I could get some quality time with my sports fanatic man.  I learned to understand what was going on enough by asking him what certain calls meant from the umpire, or the referee, he would give me answers and continue to engage me during those hours of the game (smart right).

I said all that to say this.   I was watching the story of a coach turned Pastor, Coach Bill McCartney a college football coach, and the founder of “The Promise Keepers”.  His core message was and still is, fidelity in marriage by reaching men and husbands all around America with what the bible has to say about marriage, love, family, and relationships.  Although he was used by God, he was not perfect, he cheated on his wife and confessed it to her in order to be forgiven completely by God as well as his wife.  It took a great tole on his wife and his marriage but they eventually worked through it.  Coach McCartney made a statement  I felt I had to share with you,  he said “The true character of a man shows in the countenance of his wife, because everything he has invested in her will show in her face”, and I add, it will show in the way she responds to him as a husband and a father.  Coach McCartney also said,  “God has mandated that every man should bring his wife to spender in Jesus Christ”.  That speaks to a God loving man who leads his family spiritually.

Now, I don’t claim to have a perfect marriage, as a matter of fact I challenge you to find one that is but when I look at my husband and my marriage,  I thank God because I see a Godly man, a man who is not perfect but puts me and his family first always, one who truly cares about how I feel.  He is not college educated but gifted by God with wisdom beyond most, and one who has more common sense than anyone I’ve ever known.  He can see the beginning to the end of just about any situation.  That’s certainly a gift and I believe the reason why he excelled in his 29 year Naval career and continues to even after retirement.

 Husbands love your wife as Christ loved the church and gave his life for her” Ephesians 5:25

Leave a Reply

