Life is about stages

I know I’ve said this before,  but it bears repeating;  No one stays the same in life, especially in marriage and relationships.    Marriage, children, sickness, and even the stress of work changes us.  Life simply changes us, It can’t be helped,  it just happens.  “We live our lives in phases”.  I heard that on tv this morning and it made so much sence.

In order to make sure these changes or phases don’t derail or destroy your relationship,   you must always be mindful of one another.  Check in emotionally as well as physically with one another regularly,  don’t ever assume everything is fine, after all, we are pros at deception, or hiding out feelings.  So be purposeful about  spending quality time together,  building one another up during tough times.  Share your feelings (good, bad, and indifferent) your daily experiences, your faults and your failures but!! ! Be careful not to use one another as your own personal “dumping ground”.

I had to express this very thing to my husband recently. I was so tired of him coming home everyday complaining about the same thing, did I mention it was everyday for weeks ?   His response to me was,  ” If I can’t talk to you,  then who can I talk to”?. The”talking” wasn’t  the problem, it was the content of the conversation, (I love hearing about his day normally), but no one wants to hear anyone complain about the same thing all the time!. The thing is, he probably didn’t even realize he was doing it until I  brought it to his attention.   He does now!. 

The key to correction for anyone is doing it with love, kindness and respect.  

The pay off can be great!

Leave a Reply

