Confession is good for the soul

I had a conversation with my daughter recently about a dream she had.   It was the same sort of dream I used to have when I was younger, about judgement day.    My dreams always caused me to evaluate my spiritual walk with a sense of urgency.   Was I on the right track? Am I doing all that I should be doing in this life for the Kingdom of God?   Had I asked God’s forgiveness?  Not just as a blanket statement (Lord forgive my sins) but specific sins, (the day I stole that…, when I lied about. .., the time I intentionally hurt him) ?

When we repent (tell God about our wrong doing),  it should be specific,  with the  intent of not repeating that sin again. 

What I have come to realize since those days is;  If I read Gods word, if I live His word and pray regularly (relationship),  I will be pleasing God.  But!! When I fall short (and I will), I immediately confess my short comings,(my sin), just as I would to one of my parents (when I got caught :))  I would say “I’m sorry”,  I would ask their forgiveness with the promise of not repeating that same mistake again because I didn’t want to be punished.

We must learn to live each day as if it were our last day on earth,  fore it very well could be and I want to go to Heaven when I’m done here. 

1 John 1:19
“If we confess our sin, He (God) is faithful and just to forgive our sin, and will  cleanse us from all unrighteousness”.  

Romans 12:2
“And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God”

   

Leave a Reply

