Teach them the way,  They matter more than anything

I was watching one of my favorite shows the other day (Ghost Whisperer).  There was a ghost of a young boy who had died in anger.  He said something I knew I had to write about. He told his mother, “You gave me a lot of stuff to occupy my time because you we always working or on the phone, I never felt like I had your full attention.  You made promises and you never kept them”.   I’ve seen this happen in my own family as well as all around me, parents giving so much stuff to their children and no discipline, that they ruined them. They are now adults that still feel as though life owes them something and now they are not doing well at all in life.  Careful, they will become ungrateful or they will expect what they don’t deserve, In my experience they start to steal yo get what they want, so don’t allow “stuff”, toys, electronic games and television to occupy your child’s time and attention.  Teach them to say please, and thank you, talk to them, reinforce good behavior, laugh with them and play with them.  That’s what we did with our two children and they turned out pretty darn great, if I don’t say so myself.

Babies, small children and adolescents all need attention, affection, positive reinforcement, direction, and yes please! boundaries and discipline people!  They need hugs, smiles and to feel loved and important by their parents.  Put down those phones, iPads, and tablets while in their presence.  Give your child your undivided attention sometime, but, especially when they are talking to you.  Unplug, schedule it if you must but, do it.  It will pay off in the long run and you will teach them to do the same.  It’s just good manners to be in the moment.  Besides, you wouldn’t do it when your boss is talking to you, so why do it to the most important gift God has given you, your children.

“Train up a child in the way he should go, and even when he is old he will not depart from it”. Prov 22:6

Leave a Reply

