Can We Talk?

During a discussion with my husband concerning men and women, and some common expectations they may have of one another in relationships, I took issue with his view on the subject. Well, he quickly rebutted by pointing out something he says I’ve always done, (raise my voice to establish my point) as I was doing at that very moment! I call it being passionate about what I believe in. I caught myself, and I admitted he was right! I quickly lowered my voice and un-stretched my eyes ;0). He laughed as I proceeded to make my point in a whisper.

Proverbs 15:1
“A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” (NIV)

It’s not always easy to accept criticisms from those we love, but being willing to talk about it and a willingness to try to change negative behavior, makes for a healthier and happier relationship. If someone really loves you, they will try to make you happy, even if it makes them a little uncomfortable. My husband is and has always been that kind of man and I love him for that.

The bible says for us to “Strive to live peaceably with one another if at all possible” (Hebrews 12:14). That includes our spouses.

1 Corinthians 13:7 (ESV)
“Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things”.

James 4:1-2
Submit Yourselves to God
“What causes fights and quarrels among you? Don’t they come from your desires that battle within you? You want something but don’t get it. You kill and covet, but you cannot have what you want. You quarrel and fight. You do not have, because you do not ask God.” (NIV)

Ephesians 4:26
“In your anger do not sin: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry,” (NIV)

Proverbs 17:14
“Starting a quarrel is like breaching a dam; so drop the matter before a dispute breaks out.”(NIV)

Ephesians 4:32
“Be kind to one another, tender-hearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.”

Leave a Reply

