Words Do Hurt!

When I was a child, my parents taught me a saying, “Sticks and stones may break your bones but words will never hurt you”. Oh but yes they can! and, yes they do!

Lately, I’ve heard these words from hurt individuals, “I can’t believe they said that to me” or “I thought they loved me more than that”. In the heat of a misunderstanding we can say and do things that we don’t really mean and that are totally out of our character. We even sometimes take the opportunity to say exactly what we mean, because we finally have an excuse to let it out.

The thing is, there are no “Backsies”. We can’t take back hurtful words once they leave our lips, neither can our ears un-hear what has been said to us. Don’t speak in anger because, once the pain has been inflicted, it’s too late. I’ve said it before and you’ve probably said it yourself, “I can forgive, but I can’t forget”.

In the future, take a step back and breathe. Think before you speak in anger so that you have no regrets. Start today, “practice makes perfect”.

Bible scripture references;
Mathew 19:26 (With God, all things are possible)
Proverbs 15:1 (A quiet answer turns away anger)
Proverbs 18:21 (Life and death are in the power of the tongue)
Proverbs 13:3 (Guard your words)
Proverbs 10:19 (The prudent hold their tongues)

20140626-222356-80636761.jpg

Leave a Reply

