Pay Attention!

Although, I have never cheated on my husband, I can honestly say, early in my marriage, there were a few times when I felt alone, misunderstood or neglected. In those brief moments of my marriage, there seemed to always be someone (a man) that would miraculously appear who had just the right words to say, so very complimenting, good looking, a nice smile and smelling oh so good! I had to recognize it for what it was (temptation)! I even quit a job I loved for this very reason! I loved God and my husband too much to cheat on either of them.

When things are not quite right in your relationship, your partner will let you know if they are unhappy either by showing a lack of interest in you or by verbalizing it. Don’t be blind, selfish or angry! Everyone is capable of cheating given the opportunity. Do what it took to get them because that’s what it takes sometimes to keep them. After all, they fell in love with YOU, that person who loved making them smile and who did whatever it took to make them happy. That effort should be ongoing, always and forever!

Every description of marriage in the bible says it requires love, compassion, patience and respect for one another.

Proverbs 18:22
He who finds a wife finds a good thing,
And obtains favor from the Lord. (NKJV).

Ephesians 5:25
Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her. (NIV)

1 Peter 4:8
Above all, love each other deeply, because love covers over a multitude of sins. (NIV)

Colossians 3:14
And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity. (NIV)

Proverbs 18:22
He who finds a wife finds a good thing,
And obtains favor from the Lord. (NKJV).

Leave a Reply

