When Tragedy Strikes

Tragedy can strike our lives at any moment. When we lose a loved one unexpectedly, it is in these moments that we begin to reflect and look at life differently. We see life as the precious gift that it is. How do you as a couple handle death? Do you support one another, do you talk about what you are feeling? Be compassionate one to another, realizing each one of us handles death differently. If your spouse is not a talker or is not expressive, find a way to help them get through it or just give them the space they may need until they are willing to express their feelings to you about the loss. According to the bible, we each have an appointed time to be born and a time to die (Ecclesiastes 3), so why is it so painful when we lose someone we love? We are God’s creation, not strong enough to overcome grief to the point of handling death as the word declares we ought, we love that person, we can’t imagine life without them. The bible says that we should rejoice at the end of a believer’s life and mourn when a new life comes into this world. The believer is going to be with the Savior (Jesus Christ) in Glory but the new life is bound to endure pain, sorrows and the hardships of this world. Death truly does sometimes come as a thief in the night so be encouraged that “To be absent from the body is to be present with Lord”( 2 Corinthians 5). Be humble, be kind, live for today, hope for tomorrow, and plan for the future.

Also read; Ecclesiastes 7:1-10

20140731-094859-35339790.jpg

3 thoughts on “When Tragedy Strikes

  1. I love the image! What a great meme! This reminds me of a guy I used to date. Even though we had been together for over a year, when his grandfather died he did not invite me to the funeral (despite MANY acquaintances making the list). I realized he didn’t want me to be a part of his grieving process, or he was embarrassed by it for some reason. While I understood that everyone grieves differently, it made me realize he wasn’t for me. I want to be helpful, and be there for someone in good times and in bad. Great read, and thanks for igniting a walk down memory lane 🙂

    • I’m so glad it was helpful. I realized this when my hûsbands brother died. He just retreated into himself and I felt left out. I gave him time and we later discussed how hurt I was that he wouldn’t allow me to comfort him. Men are especially different when it comes to death because they have been told, men don’t cry. What a crock

Leave a Reply

