Don’t Get Caught Up in the Hype

Have you ever met a boastful person? I call them braggers, someone who’s done everything or have been everywhere or so they say. They try to impress you with their vocabulary (words), their good deeds or their possessions (what they have). If you listen to them long enough, you will eventually realize what they are all about. I get pleasure in responding to all they have and where they have been with my simple yet wonderful life and how it doesn’t take a lot of stuff to make me happy. Almost instantly, I watch their expression quickly change as my response catches them by surprise. It is usually in that moment they become disinterested in me and move on to their next potential admirer.

When I was younger this type of encounter would sometimes cause me to envy that type of individual which in turn caused issues in my marriage because we couldn’t afford much at the time, but I wanted more, until I grew and became a mature Christian content with who I was and how The Lord was blessing me in my life.

In order to be happy, you must come to the realization that your life is yours to live and nothing anyone else has or says can change that. Don’t get caught up in the hype, live your life, remembering that boasting and bragging are self gratifying, but only what you do for Christ will last. 1Corinthians 15:58, 2 Corinthians 5:10, Psalm 73

IMG_1600.JPG

Leave a Reply

