Happy Wife, Happy Life?

If you were to ask my husband about how his marriage works so well, he would tell you that he keeps me happy. It’s true! In return I do what it takes to keep him happy.

There are many components to having a good relationship, one is a continued cycle of give and take. It shouldn’t be conditional (I’ll do for you, if you do for me) or based on whether you are getting all you want out of the relationship all of the time. Love is supposed to be unconditional.

Everyone has a “Love language” I read a book titled; The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate is a 1995 book by Gary Chapman. I learned that my husbands love language was “Acts of Service”. No, I’m not his servant but, I do know that nothing makes him happier than a good meal or me pampering him, so I cook for him and I pamper him (ok, it gets old sometimes) but he deserves all I do and more because, he’s what God called him to be, my protector, a provider, my spiritual covering, and my friend.

Maybe you’ve gotten so comfortable or complacent in your relationship that it doesn’t seem so important to do those special little things anymore. Well, I’m here to tell you, It still Is! It takes even more effort the longer you’re together in order for the relationship to stay alive and thriving.

Everyone loves to be appreciated, whether it’s spoken or physically shown, so reciprocate, give back, counter, return, however you say it. The Bible puts it like this; “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you” (Luke 6:31). Don’t look at it as a chore, see it as an investment in your happiness and future.

Ladies and gentleman, if you have a wonderful spouse or mate, make sure they know it! Show them, tell them because love is truly an action word.

Husbands, 1 Peter 3:7 is a powerful scripture concerning your wife, and your prayers. It talks about how important a peaceful existence with your wife is. Take a look and see.

Leave a Reply

